It doesn’t happen often, but last week I met a yarn that made me want to cry.

Rowan’s Alpaca Colour is softer than a kitten’s backside, and snuggling up to it in House of Fraser bought an impromptu lump to my throat.

I know, I’m odd. Of course, being Rowan, I wanted to cry even harder when I saw the price. £7.95! Although reasonable given the quality and fibre content of this yarn, 100% baby alpaca, I knew I was destined for a project of the accessory rather than garment variety. That’s fine by me though. I love alpaca fibre but it is tremendously warm. Despite living in chilly Britain, I spend most of my time either inside or outside walking, and find I get hot fairly quickly. I found a beautiful project by Dayana on Ravelry which was almost enough to convince me that a jumper would be a good idea, but for now I thought a little pair of mittens would suffice.

 


These took slightly less than a whole skein, I have maybe 2 metres left so it was tight! The yarn has a very subtle long colour repeat. This was more obvious on certain shades in the shop, but on the green was not very noticeable, so I decided to disregard it when knitting, given my yardage restrictions. It shows up much more on this photo than it does in real life, actually. The Café Au Lait pattern was fab; intuitive and clearly written. This was going to be my first entry into the Ravellenic games, but given the hideous weather, I decided I couldn’t wait! They took just two evenings to complete.

As for wearability, they are DIVINE! The yarn is a single and only lightly spun for softness, so I’m not sure about wear and tear, as the halo is already pretty impressive. But it feels like I am wearing CLOUDS ON MY HANDS, and certainly made my half hour wait for the bus this morning more pleasant. Now planning a second mini project with this stuff. Maybe a Calorimetry?

 

Very happy bunny.

 

 

 

