It’s been a race to the finish this month.

At the start of the year I joined in eagerly with another monthly KAL set up through the fabulous Knitting Goddess group on Ravelry. The theme for 2014 is ‘Movie Stars’; each month we get given a name and have to knit something with a (quite often very tenous) link. January was Helena Bonham Carter.

I wasn’t up for the commitment to a large item this month, so opted for something quick and simple. My favourite HBC character is Bellatrix Lestrange from the Harry Potter films, so I did a little costume research

I liked the look of the gloves and Ysolda’s Opera Gloves fitted the bill perfectly; her patterns are sublime and easy enough even for my SAD winter-fugged mind. The fact that I can’t imagine ever wearing the things seemed by the by….

The knitting of the gloves took no time at all, but all the others bits have took me forever to get sorted, hence why I am posting on the 31st. I have had ribbon issues, buying the wrong width, then the wrong length. Then there was the blocking: Artesano alpaca + winter temperatures = damp yarn for DAYS. Finally, I even had to think about painting my nails for the photos. CHORE. Honestly, it’s all I can do to brush my teeth at this time of year.

wpid-IMG_20140201_233611.jpg

Still, finished they are, and I’m pretty pleased with them. The lovely ladies at Knit Night reckon they are wearable. They would match perfectly with a beret I made in the same yarn.

