It was a tense Sunday evening Chez Minx. Moods swung wildly between anticipation, anxiety and abject horror. No, our overwrought emotions weren’t a result of Downton Abbey’s rape storyline (although, WTF?); I was washing The Blanket for the first time.

The Blanket is probably the biggest achievement of my knitting career thus far. It’s definitely the biggest FO. Consisting of a gazillion* squares, it took me the best part of two years and one pregnancy to make.

blankie chair

I knitted it from Shelly Kang’s rather excellent tutorial, and it’s a deliciously simple way to use up all the scraps of fingering weight yarn one accumulates from too much knitting. Whatever that is. I am a pretty prolific knitter, but it was too grand a challenge even for me to accrue all the yarn needed for a blanket this size. So I entered into lots of swaps with other knitters, and even a couple of ‘bouncing bags’; where you receive a parcel of scraps in the post and replace anything you take out before posting to the next address on the list.

Therefore, the provenance of some of my yarns is unclear. Most of it is sock yarn, of that I am confident. Generally a mix of wool and nylon, it was in the main washable. But there are some rogue squares of luxury/handwash/rubmeupandIgofunny yarns too.

IMG_20131015_205641

I have avoided washing this blanket for a looooong time. I made it as an investment piece. I hate to use the word ‘heirloom’ on my own projects, it sounds so pompous and loaded with the misplaced self importance some knitters give to their work when it is largely unappreciated by others; but I did knit this with the hope that it would be a fixture on the sofa for a while. And it has proved to be very popular indeed. With The Boy. He sleeps under it, and over this long hot summer he used it in lieu of a quilt when the temperature hit its lowest points overnight. Which is lovely and all that; except he sleeps in the nude and has the hygiene standards you associate with, well, a seven year old boy.

So wash it I had to. But how would it react? It’s not only the fabric content that concerned me, but also how the blanket construction would hold up. You see, I can knit. MAN, can I knit. Quite fast, and very often. I can cast on several projects in one sitting. I even finish some of them eventually. But I am a terrible finishererofferer. My attention span just doesn’t seem to hold until a project’s end. The Blanket has fared better than most, since it was mainly knit-on construction (yay!), but there are the odd mitred squares at the side which were sewn on, and I could only hope they still would be after a spin in the machine.

Because of course this was a machine job. I threw a couple of Colour Catcher sheets in the drum. I’ve no idea why as I’m not even sure what they do or if they work but hey ho. One gentle wool cycle later………

Yes, they are a couple of casualties. One yarn in particular that formed a few of the larger squares has definitely felted, but The Blanket is big enough to be forgiving and you can’t really tell. As for the finishing. Well, I’m not going to show you the back. It looks like a rave in a worm colony. But structurally it is sound. There are a couple of holes where squares have become slightly unattached, but no dreaded unraveling.

But the real test? One little boy gave it his seal of approval

sleepyboy

*Square count is estimated.

